About us

Faculty of Science | Mahasarakham University

  • Associate Professor Paitoon Suksringarm (1980 – 1984)
  • Associate Professor Mayuree Parakhan (1984 – 1987)
  • Dr Usa Klinhom (1987 – 1991)
  • Assistance Professor Sakon Kongboon (1991 – 1994)

In 1994, the university finally gained its independent status and became Mahasarakham University, Thailand’s 22ndgovernment university. There were the deans of the Faculty of Science, Mahasarakham University, as follows:

  • Assistance Professor Sakon Kongboon (1994 – 1995)
  • Assistance Professor Suthep Usaha (1995 – 1997)
  • Associate Professor Wanchai De-Eknamkul (1997 – 2001)
  • Professor Reon Somana (2001 – 2006)
  • Associate Professor Jeeraphan Suksringarm (2006 – 2010)
  • Professor La-orsri Sanoamuang (2010 – 2013)
  • Professor Wichian Magtoon (2014 – 2017)
  • Professor Pairot Pramual (2018 – Present)

The Faculty of Science, MSU strives to produce high-quality graduates and research in divergent areas of both science and applied science for utilizing scientific knowledge in developing communities and local resources together with being internationally recognized. The Faculty also focuses on being a leaning centre of biodiversity, natural medicinal mushrooms, palaeontology, silk innovation and renewable energy, and providing academic services in order to build vigorous and sustainable communities. For example, there are the first Paleaontology curriculum (International Program) in Thailand and the establishment of the first Natural Medicinal Mushroom Museum in Southeast Asia which blends folk wisdom and science to benefit the local communities.

Currently, SciMSU is composed of the Faculty’s Secretariat Office and four different departments which are Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics, and Physics. The Faculty offers undergraduate programs in 9 disciplines, namely Biology, Biochemical Innovation, Chemistry, Microbiology, Molecular Genetics, Physics, Applied Physics (Energy and Electronics), Mathematics, and Statistics. Plus, it is operating 9 Master’s degree programs and 5 programs at PhD level, in various scientific disciplines.






To be the leading school of science in the country for graduate and research.


1. Producing graduates who are skilled in accordance with the needs of society and the country. 2. Creating research and innovation of international quality.


Lifelong Learning.


Expertise in the study and utilization of local resources for innovation development.


Public Devotion is a Virtue of the Learned.


Students with Community Involvement.


Being Reliable for Society.


Committed to producing graduates in science with academic excellence, morality and ethics, and also to develop research and academic services that can bring local knowledge and resources to develop for the best benefit of the community, society and the country.

Faculty of Science, MSU


  • 1. Producing graduates that meet the needs of the world society.
  • 2. Creating research and innovation for international excellence. Strategy.
  • 3. Providing academic services to meet industrial and civil society needs.
  • 4. Promoting northeastern art and culture to be outstanding internationally.
  • 5. Managing the organization for a smart-university.


  • 1. The Faculty of Science focuses on teaching and learning that develops skills for students.
  • 2. All programs must integrate teaching, learning, research, academic service between departments, faculties, and internal and external departments.
  • 3. Graduates have higher employment rates and have desirable qualifications to meet the needs of graduate users.
  • 4. The Faculty of Science has research published in standard international academic journals and appears in the Scopus / ISI database of not less than 100% of the faculty members.
  • 5. The Faculty of Science encourages research works that can be applied for commercial purposes.
  • 6. The Faculty of Science has an increasing number of instructors in higher academic rank, accounting for 90 per cent of all instructors.
  • 7. The Faculty of Science has financial and fiscal stability to support educational administration and corporate management.
  • 8. The Faculty of Science is accredited as the top 5 leading schools of science in the country.