SCIMSU History

The Faculty of Science was established in accordance with the Mahasarakham University Act on December 9, 1994. It was originated from the Faculty of Science, the College of Education, Maha Sarakham which was established on 27 March 1968. The College’s status was later elevated to become a regional campus of Srinakharinwirot University. Therefore, Mahasarakham College of Education changed its name to Srinakharinwirot University. At that time, the Deputy Dean was responsible for the administration of the Faculty of Science as follows:

  • Associate Professor Paitoon Suksringarm (1980 – 1984)
  • Associate Professor Mayuree Parakhan (1984 – 1987)
  • Dr Usa Klinhom (1987 – 1991)
  • Assistance Professor Sakon Kongboon (1991 – 1994)

    In 1994, the university finally gained its independent status and became Mahasarakham University, Thailand’s 22ndgovernment university. There were the deans of the Faculty of Science, Mahasarakham University, as follows:

  • Assistance Professor Sakon Kongboon (1994 – 1995)
  • Assistance Professor Suthep Usaha (1995 – 1997)
  • Associate Professor Wanchai De-Eknamkul (1997 – 2001)
  • Professor Reon Somana (2001 – 2006)
  • Associate Professor Jeeraphan Suksringarm (2006 – 2010)
  • Professor La-orsri Sanoamuang (2010 – 2013)
  • Professor Wichian Magtoon (2014 – 2017)
  • Professor Pairot Pramual (2018 – Present)

    The Faculty of Science, MSU strives to produce high-quality graduates and research in divergent areas of both science and applied science for utilizing scientific knowledge in developing communities and local resources together with being internationally recognized. The Faculty also focuses on being a learning centre of biodiversity, natural medicinal mushrooms, palaeontology, silk innovation and renewable energy, and providing academic services in order to build vigorous and sustainable communities. For example, there are the first Paleaontology curriculum (International Program) in Thailand and the establishment of the first Natural Medicinal Mushroom Museum in Southeast Asia which blends folk wisdom and science to benefit the local communities.

    Currently, SciMSU is composed of the Faculty’s Secretariat Office and four different departments which are Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics, and Physics. The Faculty offers undergraduate programs in 9 disciplines, namely Biology, Biochemical Innovation, Chemistry, Microbiology, Molecular Genetics, Physics, Applied Physics (Energy and Electronics), Mathematics, and Statistics. Plus, it is operating 9 Master’s degree programs and 5 programs at PhD level, in various scientific disciplines.
  • Learn more about SCIMSU

    Contact SCIMSU

    If you're an academic, a current or potential student or the general public, find out how to get in touch with us.